Honey Dipped Chicken: The Low-Sodium Version 

Eating Healthier. Living Longer. This is not just a tagline. This is a commitment for me. Since I’m trying to get back to a healthier version of myself, I have decided to eat nutritious foods and to workout several times a week.  

Friday my grandson and I went to one of my favorite restaurants and we had the most delicious meal. It was nutritious and tasty.  I had Honey Dipped Chicken along with a salad and a small serving of sweet potatoes.  This was the first time I’ve tried this dish. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to prepare the dish for today’s dinner. 

Here is my version. I tweaked a recipe I found online. 

Ingredients 

  • Chicken drumsticks or chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of flour 
  • 1 tsp of Kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp of black pepper
  • 2 tsp of Paprika (optional) 
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter(16 oz)
  • One fourth cup of honey
  • One fourth cup of lemon juice

    Instructions 

    Preheat oven to 375 degrees. 

    1. Melt butter.  Add honey and lemon juice to melted butter.
    2. Place chicken pieces in bag to coat with flour mixture. Remove and place chicken in baking dish.
    3. Pour half of butter and honey mixture over chicken and cook inside oven for about 30 minutes. 
    4. Turn chicken over and pour the remaining mixture over chicken and cook for about another 30 minutes.
    5. Remove from oven and enjoy with a nice salad.


     I hope your Honey Dipped Chicken will taste as delicious as mine did.

    Happy cooking,

    Rena

    Leave a Reply

    