Mom’s Iconic Potato Salad

My mom was a great cook. I guess she had to be because she had 10 children to feed.  My mother  had to learn how to make a little  go a long way. We grew most of our own vegetables and we raised hogs.We had gardens all around the house.

On Sundays mom would prepare a big dinner. We might have a meal consisting of barbecue chicken, potato salad, green beans, and pineapple upside-down cake.

My mom’s potato salad was the best. Oh yes, Mom could burn.(translation-  Mom could really cook.)

 I don’t peel my potatoes before I boil them. Instead, I  wash them  and put them in the pot and allow them to cook for about 30-45 minutes. 

After they have cooled, I peel and dice them into small squares.  I boil two eggs and dice them as well.

I like a mustard-based potato salad,  so I prepare the sauce by mixing  a teaspoon of mustard with the mayonnaise to give my salad  a tint of yellowish color. Then, I add  the other ingredients: relish, pimentos, diced eggs, and black pepper.

I stir in  the diced potatoes a few at a time to get them all covered with the mayo-sauce. 

The potato salad turned out great and it was a nice side to go along with my fried tilapia.

 Happy cooking,

Rena

Leave a Reply

